Thank You for Another Successful Annual Meeting!

Another Annual Meeting is in the books! The Ohio Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics (Ohio AAP) was thrilled to host 291 attendees and 43 vendors at the Crowne Plaza Dublin for the 2017 Annual Meeting. The two-day conference was packed with multiple MOC Part II options, special tracks for residents and hospitalists, panel discussions on payment and Ohio’s opiate crisis, talks from the incoming AAP president and much more!


2017 Awards Reception

Five people were honored during the awards reception for working hard to improve the health and lives of children in Ohio and across the country. The award winners were:

  • Charles Spencer, MD, FAAP – Leonard P. Rome Award for furthering the mission of the Ohio AAP through a program or project.
  • Norm Christopher, MD, FAAP – Elizabeth Spencer Ruppert, MD, FAAP, Outstanding Pediatrician of the Year Award
  • O. N. Ray Bignall, II, MD, FAAP – William H. Cotton Pediatrician Advocate Award
  • Steven Wexberg, MD, FAAP – Arnold Friedman, MD, FAAP Community Pediatrician Award
  • U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D) – Antoinette Parisi Eaton, MD, FAAP Advocacy Award (award accepted by his aide, Ellen Short)

Shark Tank

Five groups of young physicians and residents presented program ideas to a panel of “sharks.” The winners were:

  • Margo Lazow, MD – Development of an interactive virtual tour of a local impoverished neighborhood: Can this impact pediatric physicians’ perspectives and practice?
  • Kelsey Maag & Katelyn Carlson – Quality improvement projects: A medical student’s role and perspective.

Head over to our Facebook page to see photos from the weekend. Much more information on Annual Meeting will be provided in the Fall edition of Ohio Pediatrics, due out in December!

If you have any questions, contact Elizabeth Dawson via email or at 614-846-6258.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *