Ohio AAP’s 2015 Annual Meeting Most Successful Ever — Even With a Power Outage!

The Ohio AAP hosted its largest and most successful Annual Meeting ever — with the highest number of exhibitors, attendees, sponsors and funds raised in Chapter history.

Nearly 250 people attended the meeting at the Dublin Embassy Suites on September 11 COoNtRSWsAAvix-and 12, 2015. Those attendees included a record 22 residents and 13 new members. The attendees of this sold-out meeting enjoyed 32 exhibitors, four MOC Part II self-assessments with the ability to receive up to 60 MOC Part II points, a keynote address from Paul Offit, MD and four additional education sessions.

TheShark-Tank-Featured day also included the first-ever “Shark Tank,” in which 14 residents, early career physicians and medical students competed by presenting abstracts on pediatric topics to a panel of pediatricians, or “sharks.” The winner was Landon Krantz, MD, a resident at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center.

The afternoon on Friday was only slightly interrupted by a fast, severe storm that knocked out power to the hotel. The hotel used generator power to run some lights during the four hours it took for crews to repair a downed power line. Despite this, the meeting went on — sessions continued in the dark or were moved to different locations.

Power was eventually restored during the annual awards reception on Friday evening. Awards were presented by Ohio AAP President Andrew Garner, MD, PhD, FAAP. The award recipients were:

Community Partner Award – Cardinal Health Foundation and Dianne Radigan, Vice President of Community Relations

Antoinette Parisi Eaton Advocacy Award Senator Cliff Hite

William Cotton Pediatrician Advocate AwardSarah Denny, MD, FAAP

Leonard P. Rome AwardRobert Frenck, Jr., MD, FAAP & Paula Braverman, MD, FAAP

Arnold Freidman Community Pediatrician AwardDarryl Robbins, DO, FAAP

Elizabeth Spencer Ruppert Outstanding Pediatrician of the Year – James Fitzgibbon, MD, FAAP

DSC_1109During this evening, the Ohio AAP was also presented with their plaque for receiving the 2014 AAP Outstanding Very Large Chapter Award. Ohio AAP CEO Melissa Wervey Arnold was also honored for her 10 years as head of the Chapter. You may read more about the awards by clicking here.

Friday evening concluded with the 5th Annual Casino Night fundraiser, benefiting the Ohio AAP Foundation programs.

Save the Date: The date has already been set for 2016 Annual Meeting! This meeting will occur on September 23-24, 2016 at the Crowne Plaza Dublin. Watch for updates from the Ohio AAP about this exciting even, which promises to be bigger and better every year!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *